New Beginnings

I want to write about adoption. I want to write about adoption on a clean slate, so that is why I am starting this adoption blog. I will try write about all the steps and logistics to our process, but mostly, I want to write how I FEEL about adoption. Another purpose to my blog is to spread the word that Doug and I want to adopt, so if you know of anyone…

“Adoption”

“Adoption” is now apart of my everyday conversation, at work, at home, with friends, and with family. At work, I face the challenge of working with single young mothers who may be considering adoption. At home, Doug and I talk about how our infertility will affect our adoption. With friends, I ask them to be our reference for adoption. And with family, I talk about the statistics of adoption.

“Adoption” in now a regular in my vocabulary, but wasn’t 2 months ago. Back then, the word that was in my everyday conversation was “pregnant”, but “adopt” has officially replaced it. Now when I talk about children it is no more “When I get pregnant…”, but “When I adopt…”. I am still getting used to this transition, but the more use it, the more I believe it.

Look how young and fresh we were 5 years ago when we had no idea what challenges lied ahead. If we would have known would we have continued on together? What would you have done?

(March 2007, engagement photo)

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. I love this new blog. And you look beautiful. I’m kind of getting a little teary-eyed reading your post. I am really looking forward to seeing you guys.

  2. FANTASTIC blog Jenica! In response to your question – I definitely think I would have “continued on” with Steve if we were facing the same situation that you and Doug are facing now. I think that HF gives us trials that are meant for our learning and growth, not only as individuals, but as eternal companions. I’ve found that I’ve learned lessons from trials in my life that I couldn’t have learned any other way – lessons that have helped me to become the person that I want to be. I think that you and Doug are awesome and I look up to the way you are facing whatever lies ahead. There is so much more in store for all of us ( both difficult and also indescribably joyful) than we know.

Leave a Reply

