Step 1…check!

There are 4 measurable steps in any adoption. These are the steps:

  1. Apply to an agency
  2. Home Study
  3. Matched with a Birthmother
  4. Baby is born!

We have finished step 1 and the way I see it we are a quarter of the way there. We applied at the Adoption Assistance Agency, a local agency here in ABQ. The agency is small but when compared with LDS Family Services our chances are better at getting picked sooner. The agency never has more than 10 adopting couples at a time, LDS has upwards of 300 at a time. I don’t know what it is about the agency, but I get a really good vibe when I am there and, most importantly, the odds are great!

With the beginning of the new year, I am hopeful. My hope is brighter than ever. I can’t tell you if 2013 will bring an adoption, but I can tell you that I hope it does.

2 thoughts on “Step 1…check!

  1. FANTASTIC post! Steve and I are going to start the adoption process this year as well. Any advice as to how we can research other agencies besides LDS Family Services here in Utah? I’ve heard mixed reviews and would like to explore all of our options.

    I am hopeful for you guys as well and hope that your baby comes this year!

Leave a Reply

