What NOT to do when waiting for a baby

I think I may be making waiting for a baby harder on myself than it needs to be. Things that I do that I should stop doing:

  • Every time I go into Target or Old Navy I go straight to the baby stuff.
  • In our spare bedroom, I have a corner of baby stuff that I look at and get excited to use…a stroller, car seat, clothes, toys, and blankets.Β 
  • I tell people that it is hard and I am sick of waiting, rather than telling them that I am excited and hopeful.
  • I check my adoption profile often (when I say often, I mean about 5+ times a day).
  • When I am at work (I am a school nurse at an elementary where it is 95% hispanic and the dark skinned bi-lingual kids are adorable), I imagine and hope that my kids will be as cute as my students.
  • I only hang out with friends who have kids (I love all my friends who have kids, but a friend without kids might change the conversation a bit).
  • I live my life in terms of “We can/can’t do that because we might have a baby then”.

So, I am going to try really hard to do the opposite of what I have been doing to see if I become less obsessed with adoption and more obsessed with living my life.Β 

2 thoughts on “What NOT to do when waiting for a baby

  1. LOVED this post! I think you’re definitely on the right track! Steve and I will be going to our first meeting with LDSFS soon to start the process as well…just know that you’re not alone and we think about you two often!

    • Thanks Brittany! I would love to talk to you about it. I don’t think I have your phone number, you should PM through FB. You might still have my number, it hasn’t changed since we lived in SLC. We will keep you in our prayers too.

Leave a Reply

