When you have lost all control, get it back!

Image

I thought I should post a pic, because let’s face it, blogs without pics aren’t as good.

 

As I have been waiting for our adoption placement I feel that I have lost all control of our adoption, meaning I don’t control when or how our adoption happens. I am completely dependent right now on LDS family services and their ability to get me a baby, their abilities are pretty limited. So, because of this I feel I need to take matters into my own hands and try and find a baby on my own. In case you are wondering, no, I won’t be going up to pregnant girls asking them if they have considered adoption. I have a few other ideas instead:

  • Registering with Parent Profiles. PP is like facebook for birthmothers and adoptive couples. It is a small monthly fee to post on their website.
  • Learn more about foster care. I am not 100% on board with foster care, but am planning on attending an orientation next. It wouldn’t hurt to learn more about it, cause who knows, it might be a good fit. 
  • Tell everyone I know that I am adopting. When we first met with our caseworker a few years ago she mentioned that we should make “pass along” cards to hand out. I don’t really like the idea of self-promotion, but I feel like it wouldn’t hurt. Honestly tho, I am the type to make them and then never hand them out.

Those are all the ideas I have for now.

Leave a Reply

